News      |      Events

Technical Bureau

The next meeting of the ABU Technical Bureau will be held in Kuala Lumpur on Friday, 8 March 2019.

Annual Meeting of the ABU Technical Bureau, 30 September, Ashgabat

ABU Technical Bureau makes progress on key issues
The ABU Technical Bureau met in Ashgabat on 30 September to discuss important issues affecting broadcasters. 
The Bureau, comprising 18 members, was able to complete a thorough follow-up on the tasks and action items from its mid-year meeting held in early May in Kuala Lumpur.  Remarkable progress was reported on the tasks that were set.  Key issues include cyber security controls and the protection of C-band satellite spectrum for broadcasters. The Bureau’s Decisions and recommendations will be put forward to the ABU Technical Committee which will meet on 1-2 October.

Mid-year Technical Bureau Meeting, 1-2 May 2018, Kuala Lumpur

The mid-year meeting of the ABU Technical Bureau was held from 1-2 May 2018 in Kuala Lumpur.

The meeting covered an extensive agenda addressing many pressing matters and brainstorming discussions on key issues.

Members raised their concern on the speed of adoption of digital technologies among some members and the digital divide that it has created within the region. The members agreed to increase the number of technical advisory and consultancy missions to address these issues. The meeting also decided to create two new study projects to look into the areas of Cyber Security for Media and the use of Big Data in Broadcasting. The new study groups will study the development in these areas to provide relevant information and guidance to members. The Bureau also amended the selection guidelines and criteria for the engineering awards and the technical review prizes to increase member participation and to make the process more transparent. 

The meeting reviewed its tasks and activities carried out by ABU Technology, since its annual meeting in Chengdu last year, and discussed on areas where more work still needs to be done in terms of training and improvement of services to members. Reports were presented on the progress and updates within the study projects under production, transmission technologies, frequency spectrum and capacity building areas. These reports provided insight into the developments taking place within the industry on more than 20 study projects currently active within the Topic Areas, Forums and Groups. 

Among other important discussions, the Bureau deliberated on ways to improve the Digital Broadcasting Symposium event, Technical Review magazine, Technical Advisory Services, and Webinar and online services to members. The meeting also took a review of the preparations for the annual Technical Committee meeting which will be held in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan in October this year as part of the ABU General Assembly and Associated meetings.

The mid-year meeting of the ABU Technical Bureau, chaired by the Technical Committee Chairman, Mr Masakazu Iwaki of NHK-Japan. 

The meeting was also addressed by the ABU Secretary-General, Dr Javad Mottaghi, who thanked the members of the Bureau for their efforts in continuously improving the services offered to the membership on technology matters. 

The meeting was attended by 18 delegates representing members of the Bureau. 

The next meeting of the ABU Technical Bureau will be held in Ashgabat on 30 September 2018.

Technical Bureau – 2016-2018

The ABU Technical Bureau consists of 18 members elected by the Technical Committee, who hold office for two years.

The composition of the Bureau is designed to ensure representation of all categories of members. Chairmen of the Topic Areas serve as ex-officio members.

The Bureau meets twice each year (mid-year and during the ABU annual meetings).

The 18 members elected to the ABU Technical Bureau are Phoenix TV-Hong Kong, EAP-Sri Lanka, NBT-Thailand, TBC-Tonga, MTV-Sri Lanka, NHK-Japan, TPT-Thailand, TVB-Hong Kong, TBS-Japan, IRIB-Iran, KBS-Korea, DDI-India, Mediacorp-Singapore, RTM-Malaysia, TRT-Turkey, RRI-Indonesia, SBC-Saudi Arabia and RTPRC-China.

The ABU Technical Committee Chairman is Mr Masakazu Iwaki of NHK-Japan,

The three Vice-Chairmen are Mr Tharaka Mohotty of MTV-Sri Lanka, Mr Lasantha Samaranayake of EAP-Sri Lanka and Dr Kong Bin of RTPRC-China. The Honorary Vice-Chairman from the host of the 2018 General Assembly which will be held in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan will be announced soon.

The Topic Area Chairman for Production is Mr Kazim Pektas of TRT-Turkey.  
Mr Kenichi Murayama of NHK-Japan is the Topic Area Chairman for Transmission.  
Mr Tharaka Mohotty of MTV-Sri Lanka is the Topic Area Chairman for Capacity Building and 
Dr Li Leilei of RTPRC-China is the Spectrum Topic Area Chairman.