News      |      Events

ABU admits six new members

Tuesday 08 Nov 2011
The Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union’s General Assembly recently admitted six new members – four additional full members and two affiliates.

ABU logo

The newest members are:

ABC Development Corporation (Associated Broadcasting Company). Popularly known as TV5, ABC Development Corporation is a TV network with broadcast facilities in Quezon City, Philippines and is the third oldest TV network in the country.

Carlton Sports Network is a free-to-air sports channel and is the first network in Sri Lanka to provide a dedicated channel to broadcast sports in Sri Lanka.

Telekom Television Limited is a wholly owned subsidiary of Solomon Telekom Company and operates commercial free-to-air TV broadcasting services in the Solomon Islands.

Biz Broadcasting of Pakistan operates 24-hour FM radio broadcasts in Urdu, English, Punjabi and Pashto in four cities. Its programmes can also be accessed via

The two newest affiliates are:

Snell Asia Pacific, a Hong Kong-based solutions-provider for the creation, management, and distribution of content. It also offers tools for cost-effective transition to digital and HDTV. It has its headquarters in the United Kingdom with offices in Europe, the Middle East, Asia and the USA.

Ateme of France provides high quality video delivery solutions for broadcast and broadband market. Its headquarters and R&D centre are based in Bievres, France, with global offices located in North America, China and Hong Kong.