News      |      Events

ABC shines at the AACTA Awards

aacta logoSix ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation) programs and documentaries were recognised at the Australian film industry awards on Sunday.

Chris Lilley was awarded best performance in a TV comedy for his series Angry Boys at the Australian Academy Cinema Television Arts (AACTA) Awards luncheon, while the ABC documentary Mrs Carey’s Concert took out two awards.

Antony Maras’ The Palace won the award for best short fiction film and cinematographer Don McAlpine received the prestigious Raymond Longford Award honouring his 40 years.

McAlpine, has worked on films such as Moulin Rouge, Predator and Don’s Party.

In feature film, The Eye of the Storm, The Hunter and Snowtown received two awards each, while Toomelah director Ivan Sen was presented with the Byron Kennedy Award.

Box-office hit Red Dog was given the AFI member’s choice award.