News      |      Events

ABU GA – Top programs and broadcasters recognised at ABU Prizes 2012

Programs about the environment won both radio and TV categories of the inaugural Seoul Awards presented at the ABU General Assembly gala awards evening in the Korean capital.

The Seoul Awards were given to the TV and radio projects that best contributed to the development of broadcasting in the Asia-Pacific region throughout the past year. 

The inaugural awards were presented by Mr Gil Hwan-young, Vice President of Korean Broadcasting System at a function attended by more than 400 delegates and guests.

The winner of the TV category was the CARE (Change Asia, Rescue the Earth) series by KBS and the radio category was won by the Green Radio initiative of RRI-Indonesia. 

More than 50 radio and television programs or program segments were selected for the finals of the ABU Awards from 166 television and 76 radio entries from 18 countries and 25 organisations, a field the Union’s Secretary-General Dr Javad Mottaghi said reflected the scope and quality of programming the annual ABU Prizes attracts.

A popular winner in the Interactive Program Category for radio was SBS Asia Pop entered by Australia’s multicultural broadcaster and which reflected the popularity of Asian music in that country and internationally. 

The Entertainment TV Award was given to Mr Isao Okajima from JBA Japan for Lady’s Story: 1600 Days of Orphan Chimpanzee and a Zookeeper, while the ABU Perspective Award for a program that delivered the best message on a theme – which for 2012 was “water” – was won by Global Report: Endangered Times, The Global Water Crisis by KBS.

The Special Jury Prize for the production crew of a TV or radio program that demonstrated innovative and creative ideas despite limited resources went to Metro TV of Indonesia for The President of Grey Republic and to Bangladesh Betar for the radio program Thorns on the Way.

The Dennis Anthony Memorial Award for the top news report of the year was sponsored by CNN and won by China Central Television for a report on China’s manned space mission.

Entertainment at the gala awards dinner was a special performance by Fusion Korea, the World Vision Children’s Choir and by popular K-Pop group Infinite. 

The full list of ABU Prizes is as follows:

ABU Radio Prizes Winners for 2012

  • Drama – The Day I Became Iron by JBA Mainichi Broadcasting System, Japan;
  • Interactive Programmes – SBS Pop Asia, SBS-Australia;
  • Radio Jingles, Promos or Station IDs – Let’s Introduce Our Culture: Dalang, RRI-Indonesia;
  • On-Air Personality – Michelle Lovegrove, SBS-Australia;
  • News Reporting – Burning Garden, Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK);
  • Documentary – The Boy with the Violin (World Stories), BBC;
  • Special Jury Prize – Thorns on the Way, Bangladesh Betar (BB);
  • ABU Seoul Prize (Radio) – Green Radio, RRI – Indonesia.


ABU TV Prizes Winners for 2012

  • Drama – Inklusion by ARD Bayerischer Rundfunk, Germany;
  • Documentary – Tears of the Antarctic, MBC-South Korea;
  • Children – And It’s Up to You (Ene mene bu), ARD ZDF KiKa, Germany;
  • News Reporting – The Policeman Zookeeper, Caring for animals, caring for people, JBA Kansai Telecasting, Japan;
  • Sports – Tour de France 2011 Opener, SBS-Australia;
  • Entertainment – Lady’s Story, 1600 Days of Motherless Chimpanzee and a Zookeeper, JBA STV, Japan;
  • ABU Perspective Award – Global Report, The Global Water Crisis, KBS-Korea;
  • Special Jury Prize – The President of Grey Republic, Metro TV, Indonesia.
  • ABU Seoul Prize (TV) – CARE Series, KBS Korea


ABU Technical Awards Winners for 2012

  • Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award – Dr Kazuyoshi Shogen, Senior Associate Director, BSAT Japan;
  • Engineering Industry Excellence Award – James Rodney Santiago, Consultant, Association of Radio Industries & Businesses, Philippines;
  • Technical Review Prize 2012 Best Article Award – Dr Ngo Thai Tri, Nguyen Chien Thang and Hoang Thanh Tung, AVG-Vietnam.


Other Awards

  • Asia-Pacific Child Rights Award – I-Witness: Piggy Bank, GMA Network , Philippines;
  • Dennis Anthony Memorial Award – China’s Manned Space Mission, a Success, CCTV-China.