News      |      Events

ABUGA 2014: ABU Technology honours its engineering industry leaders

Dr Keiichi Kubota has been presented with ABU Technology’s highest accolade, the ABU Distinguished Service Award.

Dr Kubota, President & CEO of NHK Integrated Technology Inc, was recognised at the opening day of the ABU Technology Committee meeting taking place during the ABU General Assembly and Associated Meetings in Macau, China.

The ABU Distinguished Service Award recognises the outstanding achievements and contribution by an individual to the broadcasting industry.

During his 38-year career in broadcasting, Dr Kubota has made significant contributions in the area of HDTV standardisation. He was instrumental in advances in the areas of satellite and terrestrial transmission systems, as well as in signal processing for HDTV. Dr Kubota also played a leading role in the rollout of NHK’s digital satellite broadcasting service and the coverage of the 2012 London Olympics in Super Hi-Vision.

The ABU Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award was bestowed on Mr Sunarya Ruslan, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of RRI Indonesia in recognition for his outstanding contribution to the development of RRI and to broadcasting regulations in Indonesia.

Mr Lasantha Samaranayake, Director of Engineering at EAP Network Sri Lanka took out the ABU Developing Broadcasters’ Excellence Award for his role in implementing a new frequency reallocation for EAP in a limited time frame and with minimum interference to signals.

The ABU Engineering Industry Excellence Award, was presented to Mr Frederico Alexandre do Rosario, Director and Member of the Executive Committee of TDM Macau for his leadership of TDM’s migration to digital and the implementation of a completely tapeless working environment.

CCTV China was the winner of the ABU Green Broadcast Engineering Award in recognition of the reduction of its arbon footprint and promoting the protection of the environment through the introduction of its file-based workflow. 

The Technical Review Prizes were also awarded, for articles presented in the ABU Technical Review during the past year. The winners of the Best Article, Second Commended and First Commended Article prizes are engineers of the NHK Science & Research Laboratories, Mr Wayne Huggard of TVNZ New Zealand and Mr Alireza Bahadori of IRIB Iran, respectively.