News      |      Events

ABUGA 2014: ABU elects new President and Vice Presidents

The ABU 50th anniversary General Assembly in Macau, China concluded with the election of a new President and two new Vice Presidents who are joining Vice President Dr Ahmad Jailani Muhamed Yunus of RTM in forming the Union’s leadership team going forward.

Three months after taking over as head the Korean public broadcaster KBS, Mr Cho Dae-hyun has been unanimously elected with immediate effect, as President of the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union.

The election of Mr Cho, two Vice Presidents and new members of the Administrative Council took place on the closing day of the General Assembly.

Mr Cho is a career broadcaster and media executive, having first joined KBS as a TV producer in 1978 and has since held key positions including foreign correspondent in Tokyo, Executive Director of Culture & Information, Executive Managing Director of TV Division, Executive Vice President of KBS and President of KBS Media. He also held a Chair Professorship at Soon Chun Hyang University.

The two Vice Presidents elected were also unanimously elected, with immediate effect. They are Mr Hikaru Doumoto, Executive Vice President of NHK-Japan and Mr Jawhar Sircar, CEO of AIR-Prasar Bharati, India.

Mr Hikaru Doumoto’s career with NHK spans more than 40 years. In 2000 he became the head of political news division at NHK’s news department and in 2005 he was appointed the head of News Department, in charge of news affairs of NHK as a whole. He was assigned to the head of NHK Osaka Station in 2006, and was appointed board member of the affiliate company NHK Planet in 2011, before assuming his current post at NHK.

Mr Jawhar Sircar is the CEO of Prasar Bharati, that supervises the two national public service broadcasting networks of India, namely, All India Radio (AIR) and Doordarshan (DD).  He has been Secretary, Ministry of Culture in the Government of India between 2008 and 2012, and has worked first hand to review, reform and innovate policies relating to culture, media and public communication.

A number of seats on the Administration Council (AC) were also up for re-election. ABU members re-elected the following members to the AC: Full Members RTPRC-China; and Additional Full Members HUM TV-Pakistan. Newly elected members to the AC with effect from January 2015 include Full Members VTV Vietnam and SLRC Sri Lanka, and Additional Full Member Kazmedia Ortalygy, Kazakhstan.

The elections brought to an official close eight days with more than 20 workshops, forums, committee meetings, special functions and the two-day General Assembly itself that attracted 635 delegates from 62 countries to the Chinese Special Administrative Region from 21-28 October 2014.

ABU Secretary-General Dr Javad Mottaghi said the eight days had been a great success and he paid special tribute to the government and people of Macau for their welcome and to their public broadcaster TDM for all their hard work and good grace in organising such a special event.

“Being both our annual GA but also the 50th Anniversary celebration placed an extra burden on TDM and Macau that they carried off with great professionalism and goodwill,” he said.

Dr Mottaghi congratulated the new office holders and pledged the Secretariat’s support in helping them lead the ABU into its second half-century.