News      |      Events

Engineering Awards Archive

2013 Engineering Awards


                           LIST OF WINNERS  


ABU Technical Review Prizes


Turkish Radio Television Corporation, TRT-Turkey 

for the article titled e-Radio authored by

Cemal GAZALCI,  Doğuş ÇİFTELER, İbrahim İzlem GÖZÜKELEŞ 



Korean Broadcasting System, KBS-Korea 

for the article titled

Experimental Broadcasting for 4K UHDTV via Terrestrial 
Network in Korea

authored by 
Zungkon Yim, Sungho Jeon, Sanghun Kim, 

Sangjin Hahm and Byungsun Kim


Audio Visual Global JSC of Vietnam, AVG-Vietnam for the article titled

SFN Interference (DVB-T2 Standard) AVG’s Experiences authored by

Dr Ngo Thai Tri, Nguyen Chien Thang and Nguyen Manh Duc

 ABU Green Broadcast Engineering Award 2013 

 sponsored by KOBA

 ABU Engineering Industry Excellence Award

 ABU Developing Broadcasters’ Excellence Award


 ABU Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award


2012 Engineering Awards

ABU Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award
Dr Kazuyoshi Shogen, Senior Associate Director, B-SAT, Japan was awarded the ABU Broadcast Engineering Award.  Sponsored by Sony, Dr Shogen received the citation plaque from Chris Grey, General Manager, Sony, Hong Kong and the trophy from Mr Kevin Tan of Sony, Singapore.


ABU Engineering Industry Excellence Award

James Rodney Santiago, Consultant, ARIB was awarded the ABU Engineering Industry Award.  


ABU Green Broadcast Engineering Award
Seon Kwon Kim, Executive Managing Director of the Korean Broadcasting System was awarded the inaugural ABU Green Broadcasting Award.  Mr Kim received the award from Mr Choong Jin KIM, CEO/President of KOBA Show (Korea E&Ex).


ABU Technical Review Prizes 2012

The Best Article Award Prize was award to Dr Ngo Thai Tri, Nguyen Chien Thang and Hoang Thanh Tung of Audio Visual Global JSC, AVG-Vietnam for the article titled The First DVB-T2 Single Frequency Network (SFN) in Vietnam.  Mr Nguyen Chien Thang accepted the prize on behalf of AVG-Vietnam.


The First Commended Article Award Prize was awarded to Chris Grey and Aaron Hee of Sony Corporation of Hong Kong Ltd for the article titled HD Imaging Technology which appeared in the July-September 2012 issue of the ABU Technical Review.


The Second Commended Article Award Prize was awarded to Garry Kum of Television Broadcasts Limited, Hong Kong for the article titled Metadata Project – TVB Experience which appeared in the July-September 2012 issue of the Review.


Past Winners

  ABU Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award ABU Engineering Industry Excellence Award
2011 A K Bhatnagar, Engineer-in-Chief, Doordarshan, India Wang Jiangqiang, Vice-President, Shanghai Media Group
2010 Dr Abdolali Aliaskary, Vice President, Development and Media Technology Division of Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting, Iran Zhang Jianping of the Radio and Television of the People’s Republic of China
2009 Law Man Hoi Wicky, Engineering Manager, Phoenix Satellite Television of Hong Kong Tay Joo Thong, Chief Technology Officer, MediaCorp Pte Ltd, Singapore
2008 Takao Shimizu, Executive Researcher, Tokyo Broadcasting System Inc, Japan Dr Ahn Dongsu, Vice President of the Ubiquitos Media Contents Alliance and President of the Future Broadcasting Research Group
2007 Kim Sangjin, Manager, Institute of Technology, Seoul Broadcasting System, South Korea Ding Wenhua, Chief Engineer of China Central Television and Vice-Chairman of the ABU Technical Committee, RTPRC-China
2006 A S Guin, Engineer-in-Chief, All India Radio Dr Osamu Yamada, Director General of Corporate R&D Laboratories, Pioneer Corporation
2005 Dr Takehiko Yoshino of NHK, Japan Valod Stepanian of IRIB, Iran
2004 Richard Barton of FreeTV-Australia R K Gupta of Doordarshan, India
2003  The inaugural ABU Excellence Awards were presented in Istanbul in October, 2003
  Taiji Nishizawa, NHK Science and Technical Research Laboratories, NHK-Japan Bimal Kumar De of Doordarshan-India

Distinguished Service Award

 2011  David Wood, European Broadcasting Union
 2010  Kenji Nagai, Nippon Hoso Kyokai, Japan
 2004   Professor Mark Krivocheev, Russian Federation  

ABU Lifetime Achievement Award

 2013   Erina Tobing, TVRI, Indonesia
 2012  Doan Viet Trung, VOV, Vietnam
 2011  Dr Jonghwa Lee, KBS, Korea
 2010  Joan Warner, Commercial Radio Australia
 2009  John Bigeni, DVB, Asia (formerly ABC, Australia) 
 2008  Peter Senger, DW, Germany

ABU Technical Review Prize Winners

  Best Article Commended Article 1 Commended Article 2
2011  KBS-Korea NHK-Japan ThaiPBS
2010 NHK-Japan Radio New Zealand
2009 MediaCorp-Singapore NHK-Japan MBC & MCML-Mauritius
2008 NHK-Japan IRIB-Iran ASTRO-Malaysia
2007 RTPRC-China NHK-Japan VOV-Vietnam
2006 KBS-Korea RTHK-Hong Kong VOV-Vietnam
2005 TBS-Japan AIR-India NHK-Japan
2004 NHK-Japan KBS-Korea MediaCorp-Singapore
2003 MediaCorp-Singapore NHK-Japan DDI-India