News      |      Events

GA 2016: ABU Engineering Awards – Winners announced in Bali

Winners of the Engineering Awards were announced this morning during the Technical Committee meeting.

The ABU Engineering Industry Excellence Award was bestowed on Mr Byeong-Ryeol Park of Korean Broadcasting System (KBS). The Award was presented to him by Dr Javad Mottaghi, ABU Secretary-General.

The ABU Green Broadcast Engineering Award sponsored by KOBA was offered to China Central Television (CCTV-China) and to the Islamic Republic of Iran (IRIB) represented by Dr Abbas Naseri Taheri, Advisor to IRIB President and Director General for International Affairs.

The ABU Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award went to Mr Tharaka Gajaba Mohotty, Director Engineering, MTV/MBC Channels Pvt Ltd and ABU Technical Committee Vice Chairman.

The ABU Developing Broadcasters’ Excellence Award was bestowed on Mr Radeep Maharjan, Senior Technical Officer -Association of Community Radio Broadcasters Nepal.

The ABU Distinguished Service Award was offered to Mr Yasuto Hamada,  Controller  of  Management  of  NHK  GAKUEN  (NHK Academy of Distance Learning), Japan.

ABU Technical Review Prize 2016
The Best Article Award was bestowed on a team of writers from NHK-Japan who authored “Automatic Generation System of Japanese Sign Language (JSL) with CG Animation of Fixed Pattern Weather Information”. Dr Narichika Hamaguchi, Senior Manager, Planning Division, Engineering Administration Department, NHK-Japan received the prize on behalf of his team.

The First Commended Article Prize was awarded to Supatrasit Suansook of the National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission,  NBTC-Thailand who authored “Digital Terrestrial Television in Thailand: Technical Aspects”

Mr Terence Yiu of Phoenix Satellite Television Co Ltd, Phoenix TV-Hong Kong received the Second Commended Article Prize for his article titled: HD  Broadcast  Upgrade  Project  for  Phoenix  TV.