News      |      Events

GA 2016: Masakazu Iwaki re-elected Chairman of ABU Technical Bureau and Technical Committee

Mr Masakazu Iwaki has been re-elected Chairman of the ABU Technical Bureau and ABU Technical Committee for a new term of two years. He is Head of Human Interface Research Division Science and Technology Research Laboratories at NHK-Japan.

Three new Vice Chairmen have also been elected: Mr Tharaka Mohotty of MTV-Sri Lanka, Mr Kong Bin of RTPRC-China and Mr Lasantha Samaranayake of EAP-Sri Lanka.

The 18 members elected to the ABU Technical Bureau are Phoenix TV-Hong Kong, EAP-Sri Lanka, NBT-Thailand, TBC-Tonga, MTV-Sri Lanka, NHK-Japan, TPT-Thailand, TVB-Hong Kong, TBS-Japan, IRIB-Iran, KBS-Korea, DDI-India, Mediacorp-Singapore, RTM-Malaysia, TRT-Turkey, RRI-Indonesia, SBC-Saudi Arabia and RTPRC-China.

The ABU Technical Committee also confirmed the appointment of Mrs Hanife Sayilir of TRT-Turkey as Topic Area Chairman for Production, Dr Narichika Hamaguchi of NHK-Japan as Topic Area Chairman for Transmission, Mr Tharaka Mohotty as Topic Area Chairman for Capacity Building and pending official confirmation from RTPRC-China, Dr Li Leilei for Spectrum Topic Area.