News      |      Events

ABU General Assembly 2016: A New President and a new Vice President Elected to the Administrative Council

The 53rd ABU General Assembly in Bali, Indonesia concluded with the election of Mr Ko Dae-young, President and CEO of Korean Broadcasting System (KBS) as new President and Ms Supriya Sahu, Director General of Doordarshan-India as new Vice president of the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union.

Mr Ko Dae-young who has been elected unanimously has more than 30 years experience in public broadcasting and was appointed in November 2015 as the 22nd President and CEO of Korean Broadcasting System (KBS). He joined KBS as a TV reporter in 1985 and has since held key positions including foreign correspondent to Moscow, Russia. He was Executive Director of News Department and Executive Managing Director of News & Sports Division. In 2013, he became General Auditor for KBS Media and one year later he was appointed President of KBS Business.  

Ms Supriya Sahu joins the other two Vice Presidents of ABU, Mr Hikaru Doumoto, Executive Vice President of NHK-Japan and Mr Senol Goka , Director General of TRT- Turkey.

Both the new President and the Vice President start their term with immediate effect and will continue their service to the ABU for the next three years from January 2017.

Three seats of the Administrative Council (AC) were also up for election. ABU members re-elected KBS-Korea and elected MNL-Papua New Guinea and RRI-Indonesia as new members to the Administrative Council.

The term of the newly elected members of the Administrative Council will be for three years with effect from January 2017.