News      |      Events

Programme Committees

Programme Committees

+ - Programme Committee

Programme Committee

What is Programme Committee?

The Programme Committee is a committee for all members engaged in TV, Radio and New Media activities. We meet once a year during the ABU General Assembly. All the annual programming activities are reported by the Programme Department staff and the Host / EP of the projects. Members also actively join the meeting by showcasing their programmes or reporting their activities. The elected chairperson and vice chairperson serve their term of office for a period of two years.

Who leads the Programme Committee?

Mr Soleman Yusuf (RRI, Radio Republik Indonesia, Indonesia)

Vice Chairperson
Mr Keizo Izuta (NHK, Nippon Hoso Kyokai, Japan)
Mr Chunki Park (KBS, Korean Broadcasting System, Republic of Korea)


+ - Programme Bureau

What is Programme Bureau?

Programme Bureau is an advisory body for the Programme Committee. Programme Bureau members meet twice a year, discussing and making suggestions to the existing and future Programming activities so that the ABU members can get maximum benefit from the activities. The outcome of the discussion at Programme Bureau is reported by the Chairperson during the annual Programme Committee meeting.

Who are the members of Programme Bureau?

1. All India Radio (AIR),India
2. Bangladesh Television (BTV), Bangladesh
3. China Central Television (CCTV),China
4. Fiji Broadcasting Corporation (FBC), Fiji
5. Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting (IRIB), Iran
6. Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK),Japan
7. Korean Broadcasting System (KBS), Korea
8. Korea Educational Broadcasting System (EBS), Korea
9. Mongolian National Public Radio and Television (MNB),Mongolia
10. Radio Republik Indonesia (RRI), Indonesia
11. Radio Television Malaysia (RTM),Malaysia
12. Thai Public Broadcasting Service (Thai PBS), Thailand
13. Turkish Radio Television Corporation (TRT),Turkey
14. Vietnam Television (VTV), Vietnam

Terms of Office: October 2018 to October 2020

+ - Radio Working Party

What is Radio Working Party?

The ABU Radio Working Party (RWP) is an active committee of ABU Radio Members, formed to explore and recommend Radio activities in the Programme Committee; promote and protect the interests of ABU Radio members; coordinate Radio activities and provide suitable guidance to individual Radio members when needed.

Who are the members of Radio Working Party?

The RWP is an open committee that welcomes all Radio Members from the following categories: Full Members, Additional Full Members, Associate Members and Affiliate Members. Each eligible ABU member may send representatives to RWP meetings.

How does Radio Working Party function?

The RWP meets once per year, during the ABU General Assembly. In order to monitor activities and track progress, the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Director of ABU Programming Department and Head of Radio also meet midyear, during the Radio Asia Conference.

Who leads the Radio Working Party?

The Chairperson and Vice Chairpersons of the ABU Radio Working Party are elected from within the RWP for a two-year term, during the regular annual meeting held in conjunction with the ABU General Assembly.

Mr David Hua (ABC, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Australia)

Vice Chairperson
Mr Widhie Kurniawan (RRI, Radio Republik Indonesia, Indonesia)

+ - New Media Task Group

What is New Media Task Group?

The ABU New Media Task Group (NMTG) was established in June 2016 to exchange knowledge, ideas and examples of best practices and to support the development and implementation of successful new media activities and initiatives for ABU Members.

The Task Group meets once a year; from 2016-2018 on the side-lines of ABU General Assembly and from 2019 under the frame of #ABUdigital forum.

What is the objective of New Media Task Group?

The overall objective of the New Media Task Group is to facilitate a forum of information and knowledge sharing and provide advice and recommendations to the design and implementation of custom-made new media activities and initiatives for ABU Members.

Who are the members of New Media Task Group?

ABU New Media Task Group is open to all ABU Members. The current composition of the New Media Task Group is made up of the following members:

1. NHK (Japan)
2. RRI (Indonesia)
3. VOV (Vietnam)
4. TRT (Turkey)
5. Thai PBS (Thailand)
6. Astro (Malaysia)
7. TDM (Macau)
8. CNTV (China)
9. FBC (Fiji)
10. MNL (Papua New Guinea)
11. IMBA (Australia)
12. Bang Productions (Singapore)