News      |      Events

Who’s Who – ABU


Mr Masagaki Satoru
Executive Vice – President of NHK, Japan

Mr. Masagaki was born in 1960 in Sendai city, Japan and graduated from the Faculty of Political Science and Economics of Waseda University.

Since joining NHK in 1983 as news reporter, he has mainly covered political news. After serving as news editor for more than 10 years, he became Head of Political News Division in 2010, Editorial Controller of News Department, Director of Osaka Station in 2015, Director of News Department in 2016, and Director of Public Relations Department in 2017.

He joined the Executive Board as Senior Director in April 2019, and then assumed the post of Executive Vice President in April 2020.

Mr. Shashi Vempati
Vice President
CEO, Prasar Bharati – India

As the youngest and first non-bureaucrat CEO of India’s Public Broadcaster since 2017, Mr Vempati is currently overseeing the transformation of the twin networks of Doordarshan comprising more than 35 television channels and of All India Radio encompassing more than 400 radio stations.

Mr Vempati is an alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology, IIT Bombay. After a long stint at the Indian Information Technology major Infosys Technologies, Shashi managed a digital news media startup Niti Digital before taking up his current role in Public Broadcasting. He also serves on the Boards of the Indian Broadcasting Foundation (IBF) and the Broadcast Audience Research Council (BARC) apart from the Indian Council for World Affairs and the Public Service Broadcasting Trust (PSBT).

An author and a columnist, he has published on politics, public policy and emerging areas of technology like Artificial Intelligence and Broadcast-Broadband Convergence. An innovator, he also holds patents in the area of real time event management within wireless sensor networks.

Dr Javad Mottaghi

Dr Javad Mottaghi is the Secretary-General of the ABU. He was appointed on 8 January 2010 and assumed office on 3 May 2010. Before joining the ABU, he was Director of the Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD) for 12 years.He has 35 years of national and international experience in media/communication in the following areas: international affairs, media/communication development and broadcasting, AV productions and co-production, ICTs, capacity building, networking, research, publications, negotiations, fund raising, news and programming for radio and television, social and cultural television programmes and sports coverage.

ABU Secretariat

The ABU Secretariat is located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The present staff is 35.
Dr Javad Mottaghi
Chief Executive of the ABU
The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary-General, Dr Javad Mottaghi, who is the chief executive of the ABU and is responsible for all of the Union’s activities. He reports to the Administrative Council and the General Assembly. The Secretary-General’s office handles the administration, staffing, public, international relations, finance and information systems of the ABU. The Secretariat has four other departments: ABU Programming, ABU Technology, ABU Sports and Asiavision, each headed by a director who reports directly to the Secretary-General.
Technical Department
Ahmed Nadeem
Director, Technology & Innovation
Mr Nadeem is an experienced electronic and ICT engineer with over 20 years of experience in the field of Broadcasting and Telecommunications. He has been working with ABU Technology Department since 2008. He previously worked as a Project Engineer at LSV Enterprises of Singapore (2007-2008) and before that with Television Maldives (1996-2007).
Sports Department
Cai Yanjiang
Director, ABU Sports Department
Yanjiang was from CCTV where he was Senior Producer of the CCTV sports channel. He graduated from the China Central Academy of Drama with a Masters degree in Film and Television theory. Yanjiang joined the ABU in July 2012.
Wendy Everett
Director, ABU News
Wendy joined the ABU from the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) where her journalism career included television news, radio news and current affairs and online news and features. She was founding Executive Producer of the Australia Network satellite television news service to Asia, South Asia and the Pacific and spent three years in media development in Honiara as part of the Regional Assistance Mission to Solomon Islands (RAMSI). Her latest role with the ABC focused on radio current affairs for the Pacific.
Programme Department
Yasu Nagahata
Director, ABU Programming
Mr. Yasushige Nagahata is a Japanese national and started his career with Japanese public broadcaster, NHK in 1997. He has mainly directed and produced entertainment programmes for the last 24 years. He holds a Bachelor of Art degree from Boston University, USA.